Search form

Media

These news clips on global space news are provided by the Coalition for Space Exploration for distribution by the Space Foundation to our constituents. You can also subscribe to receive a daily email version.

Take a Look: Asteroid Flyby of Earth

Close fly-by of asteroid Toutatis this week!

Potentially hazardous asteroid Toutatis, an asteroid with an estimated diameter of over 3 miles (5.4 km), will make its close approach to Earth this week.

Slooh Space Camera will cover its near-approach on Tuesday, December 11th, with several live shows on Slooh.com, free to the public, starting at 12 p.m. PST / 3 p.m. EST / 20:00 UTC (international times here:

http://goo.gl/qwMWy

Slooh president Patrick Paolucci and Astronomy magazine columnist Bob Berman will provide real-time discussion of the event.

Viewers can watch live on their PC or iOS/Android mobile device.

“We will be tracking asteroid Toutatis live from two observatory locations — Canary Islands, off the coast of Africa, and Arizona,” says Paolucci in a newly issued press statement.

On December 11th/12th, asteroid Toutatis will be a comfortable but still concerning 0.04 AU away from Earth – or about 18 lunar distances.

Go to: http://events.slooh.com/

By Leonard David

Live Sun Image
 
X

Share This Page

Share this page with friends and bookmark for future reference.

Facebook Share on Facebook Twitter Tweet This LinkedIn Share on LinkedIn

Additional networks and bookmarking websites:

X

Give Us Feedback

We want to hear from you! Feel free to send us your comments about this page. General feedback for the Space Foundation is also welcome.